Head movements in Odissi dance are called sira bheda. They refer to positions of the head while expressing a particular bhava(emotion). There are nine types of head movements in Odissi dance:

Sama(Straight Position)

Udvaita(Face lifted upward)

Adaa Mukha(Face tilted downwards)

Alodita(Head moving in a circular motion)

Dhruta(Head moving from side to side)

Kampita(Head moving front and back)

Paravruta(Head turned towards the left)

Ukhiptta(Head tilted to the right side)

Parivahitta(Head moving from left to right)